skip to content

The Restricted Bids Selection Committee is a sub-committee of the Research Policy Committee and its role is to assess competing applications for restricted calls. The Restricted Bids Selection Committee comprises the Heads of Schools, a further RPC member from each School, and additional 4 members nominated by each School. The PVC (Research) is the Chair of the Sub-Committee and the secretary is an officer from the Research Strategy Office responsible for coordination of restricted calls.

The members of the Restricted Bids Selection Committee whose academic interests fall in the area of the call will be convened, either in person or virtually, to advise the PVC (Research) on the appropriate bid(s) for submission.

Current Committee Members


Chair: Prof Chris Abell, PVC (Research)


School of Arts and Humanities

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Prof Chris Young, Head

Prof Phil Allmendinger, Head

Prof Wendy Bennett

Dr James Barrett

Dr Nathan MacDonald

Prof Jude Browne

Dr Alexander Marr

Prof Karen Coates

Dr Philippa Steele

Prof Sarah Franklin


Prof Joel Robbins


Prof Ulinka Rublack


School of Biological Sciences

School of Physical Sciences

Prof Anna Philpott, Head

Prof Nigel Peake, Head

Prof Sarah Bray

Prof Jeremy Baumberg

Prof Daniel St Johnston


School of Clinical Medicine

School of Technology

Prof Patrick Maxwell, Head

Prof John Dennis, Head

Prof Marek Czosnyka Prof Abir Al-Tabbas

Prof Sadaf Farooqi

Prof Michael Barrett

Prof Simon Griffin Prof Srinivasan Keshav

Prof Ziad Mallatt

Prof Richard Penty

  Prof Garth Wells



Please note: Further Committee members will be added to this web page as soon as their nominations have been confirmed by Schools.